Toothbrush.

via Daily Prompt: Toothbrush

I have two toothbrushes. One is at my house and one is at yours. I can remember the day you showed me my new toothbrush, placing it in the cup holder right next to yours. Then as time passed, you bought me a new toothbrush (because you’re supposed to replace it every once in a while).

I’ve had a toothbrush at your house for 2 years now. Maybe 3, I’m losing track.

I’ve started to scrub the dishes at your house when you’re not home and make your bed even though I didn’t sleep in it the night before.

I find myself doing yoga in your backyard instead of mine and feeling more comfortable in your bed than my own.

I actually had a drawer there once, but lost that privilege when we broke up that one time. But your home is basically like my home, except that it isn’t.

The home in which I’ve grown into the person that I am, is no longer feeling like home. Maybe because the person I became in that house, is no longer who I feel resides in this body.

I feel like maybe home is whenever I am with you. So let me move into your home, like you let me move in to your heart.

But you told me that it’s way too soon to live together. You told me not to be sad, I’m always welcome and I can definitely call this place my home, except that it isn’t.

I’ve had a toothbrush at your house for over 2 years, maybe 3.

 

9 thoughts on “Toothbrush.

Add yours

    1. Thank you, I chose this kind of writing style so that it’s more open for interpretation, depending on who’s reading and their own personal experiences. Thanks for reading. Hopefully you’re right in that I will eventually learn from this.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read, I’m glad I was able to relate this (what seems to be) huge defeat, to others. I’m sorry to heart that things didn’t work out, but happy that you were able to revisit that part of your life through this post.

      Like

  1. This is a masterpiece. I know because its something i will write. You used a toothbrush to tell a sad love story. I know you probably did not ask but you need more exposure. Try changing the color (or theme) to something brighter and welcoming.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the feedback and for your kind words on the post. I’ll experiment with brighter colors, I suppose I’m not a very “bright colored” kind of person, which is why I went with this color/theme. But thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, indeed it’s pretty sad. Welcome to my life, haha. To be quite honest, I don’t ever really think about taking my toothbrush back. I guess I’m still hoping that the toothbrush that I have in his home will soon be the only toothbrush I own.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑